August 3, 2022

President Joe Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20500

**SUBJECT:** Rescind Executive Order 14019

Dear President Biden:

As the chief election officials for our respective states, we ask you to rescind Executive Order 14019.

Our United States Constitution provides, "The Times, Places and Manner of holding Elections for Senators and Representatives, shall be prescribed by each State by the Legislature thereof; but the Congress may at any time by Law make or alter such Regulations, except as to the Places of chusing Senators." As the supreme law of the land, the Constitution clearly says the state legislatures *shall* (emphasis added) prescribe the way elections are run, and that if any adjustments need to be made, such adjustments are the province of Congress, not the Executive branch.

Therefore, Executive Order 14019 was issued without Constitutional authority nor Congressional approval. Executive Order 14019 calls for federal agencies to develop plans that duplicate voter registration efforts conducted at the state level and ignores codified procedures and programs in our state constitutions and laws.

Involving Federal agencies in the registration process will produce duplicate registrations, confuse citizens, and complicate the jobs of our county clerks and election officials. If implemented, the Executive Order would also erode the responsibility and duties of the state legislatures to their situational duty within the Election Clause.

Respectfully,

John Merrill, Alabama Secretary of State

John Thurston, Arkansas Secretary of State

Brad Rafferspe

John Thurston

Cord Byrd, Florida Secretary of State

Brad Raffensberger, Georgia Secretary of State

Lawrence Denney, Idaho Secretary of State Holli Sullivan, Indiana Secretary of State Michael Watson, Mississippi Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin, Louisianna Secretary of State Christi Jacobson Christi Jacobsen, Montana Secretary of State Bob Evnen, Nebraska Secretary of State Steve Barnette, South Dakota Secretary of State Frank LaRose, Ohio Secretary of State Tre Hargett, Tennessee Secretary of State Mac Warner, West Virginia Secretary of State

Ed Buchanan, Wyoming Secretary of State