

THE GENERAL COURT OF MASSACHUSETTS STATE HOUSE, BOSTON 02133-1053

The Honorable Maura T. Healey Governor of Massachusetts Massachusetts State House 24 Beacon Street, Room 360 Boston, MA 02133 October 8, 2024

Dear Governor Healey:

We are writing to request immediate action be taken to ensure the safety and security for everyone at Souza-Baranowski Correctional Center and all Department of Correction (DOC) facilities. This request follows the violent incident at Souza-Baranowski Correctional Center on September 18, 2024. The incident involved multiple inmates, and weapons, and resulted in the hospitalization of five Corrections Officers. After speaking with members of the Massachusetts Correction Officers Federated Union (MCOFU) Executive Board, staff and members of the public, we believe ongoing issues in the Commonwealth's correction facilities necessitates immediate intervention to protect both staff and inmates alike. While we appreciate the steps outlined in Interim Commissioner Jenkins' September 25th letter, we believe that additional changes are needed to prevent a similar incident in the future. It has come to our attention that routine use of DOC Tactical Response Units to execute comprehensive searches has become exceedingly rare in recent years. As legislators, we believe in the establishment of a commonsense approach to address these recent upticks in violence, assaults, and illegal contraband at DOC facilities. To that end, we request the immediate implementation of reasonable policy adjustments below:

- Regular, routine, and complete tactical searches conducted at all DOC correctional facilities
 throughout the Commonwealth, especially at medium and maximum-security institutions that have
 experienced an uptick in violence, weapons or illegal drugs.
- Swift prosecution of inmate assaults on Correction Officers, with specific focus on the Bodily Fluids Act, which was passed by the Legislature in 2005 to serve as a legal deterrent. Prosecutions under this Act have not been pursued in a manner consistent enough to establish an effective deterrent.
- Issuance of an executive order creating a Blue-Ribbon Taskforce to review safety/security protocols, provide transparency and make additional recommendations for the DOC to implement. We feel strongly that this will provide greater safety and security for Officers, staff, and inmates.
- Establish monthly meetings between the EOPSS Secretary and designated representatives of the MCOFU Executive Board to discuss ongoing challenges, resolve issues and keep the lines of communication open.

These commonsense approaches will enhance the safety and security of our officers, staff and the inmate population. Your attention, and more importantly, implementation regarding these reasonable requests will be significant steps forward in providing a safe and secure environment for all in our correctional facilities.

Thank you,

Jonathan Zlotnik State Representative 2nd Worcester District Michael Moore State Senator Second Worcester District

Kimberly Ferguson State Representative 1st Worcester District Mathew Muratore State Representative 1st Plymouth District

Adam Scanlon State Representative 14th Bristol District

Michael Soter State Representative 8th Worcester District

Susannah Whipps State Representative 2nd Franklin District

Hannah Kane State Representative 11th Worcester District

John Marsi State Representative 6th Worcester District

Steven Howitt
State Representative
4th Bristol District

James Arena-DeRosa State Representative 8th Middlesex District

Nick Collins State Senator First Suffolk District

Paul McMurtry State Representative 11th Norfolk District

James Arciero State Representative 2nd Middlesex District

James Hawkins State Representative 2nd Bristol District David Vieira
State Representative
3rd Barnstable District

Peter Durant State Senator Worcester and Hampshire District

> Carol Doherty State Representative 3rd Bristol District

Steven Xiarhos State Representative 5th Barnstable District

Donald Berthiaume State Representative 5th Worcester District

Alyson Sullivan-Almeida State Representative 7th Plymouth District

John Cronin State Senator Worcester and Middlesex District

> Christopher Hendricks State Representative 11th Bristol District

Mark Cusack State Representative 5th Norfolk District

David DeCoste State Representative 5th Plymouth District

Marc Pacheco State Senator Third Bristol and Plymouth District

> Angelo Puppolo State Representative 12th Hampden District

Patricia Haddad State Representative 5th Bristol District

F. Jay Barrows
State Representative
1st Bristol District

Joseph McKenna State Representative 18th Worcester District

David Muradian State Representative 9th Worcester District

Paul Frost State Representative 7th Worcester District

Marc Lombardo State Representative 22nd Middlesex District

Ryan Fattman
State Senator
Worcester and Hampden District

Colleen Garry State Representative 36th Middlesex District

Jessica Giannino State Representative 16th Suffolk District

Patrick Kearney State Representative 4th Plymouth District

Tackey Chan
State Representative
2nd Norfolk District

Michael Kushmerek State Representative 3rd Worcester District Rodney Elliott State Representative 16th Middlesex District

Jeffrey Turco State Representative 19th Suffolk District

Paul Feeney State Senator Bristol and Norfolk District

Jacob Oliveira State Senator Hampden, Hampshire and Worcester District

Walter Timilty
State Senator
Norfolk, Plymouth and Bristol District

David Robertson State Representative 19th Middlesex District

Mark Montigny
State Senator
Second Bristol and Plymouth District

Christopher Flanagan State Representative 1st Barnstable District

Brian Murray State Representative 10th Worcester District Marcus Vaughn State Representative 9th Norfolk District

Bruce Ayers State Representative 1st Norfolk District

Meghan Kilcoyne State Representative 12th Worcester District

Michael Rush State Senator Norfolk and Suffolk District

John Keenan State Senator Norfolk and Plymouth District

> Margaret Scarsdale State Representative 1st Middlesex District

Shirley Arriaga State Representative 8th Hampden District

Alan Silvia State Representative 7th Bristol District

Antonio F.D. Cabral State Representative 13th Bristol District Joseph McGonagle State Representative 28th Middlesex District

Bradley Jones State Representative 20th Middlesex District

Patrick O'Connor State Senator First Plymouth and Norfolk District

John Velis State Senator Hampden and Hampshire District

Michael Brady
State Senator
Second Plymouth and Norfolk District

Donald Wong State Representative 9th Essex District

Brian Ashe State Representative 2nd Hampden District

William Straus State Representative 10th Bristol District

Daniel Cahill State Representative 10th Essex District