



 The U.S. Constitution states a president or federal official "shall be removed from office on impeachment for, and conviction of, treason, bribery, or other high crimes or misdemeanours."

 The process is started by the House of Representatives, and needs a majority to pass.

• In the Senate, a two-thirds vote is necessary for removal.

## Articals of impeachment against President Trump:

- Abuse of power
- Obstruction of Congress

## Presidents impeached

 Andrew Johnson, the 17th president, for Violating the Tenure of Office Act. Was acquitted on May 26, 1868.

 Bill Clinton, the 42nd president, for perjury and obstruction of justice.
Acquitted on Feb. 12, 1999.

## Impeachment not just for presidents

 Since 1797 the House of Representatives has impeached 16 federal officials. These include two presidents.

 Of those, the Senate has convicted and removed seven, all of them judges. Not included in this list are the office holders who have resigned rather than face impeachment.